The Australian Open

Royal Sydney has hosted 15 Australian Opens, most recently the 2016 Emirates Australian Open from 17th to 20th November which was won by Jordan Spieth.

Royal Sydney has hosted numerous championships, most notably, the Australian Open Championships, the Women’s Australian Open in 2007, the Australian PGA Championship and the Australian Men’s and Ladies Amateur Championships. Such champions as Gary Player, Gene Sarazen, Peter Thomson and Greg Norman have contested Australia’s major championship at Royal Sydney. Winners of the Open at Royal Sydney include Jordan Spieth, Rory McIlroy, John Senden, Aaron Baddeley, Robert Allenby and Mark Calcavecchia.


  Australian Open Winners at Royal Sydney

1906  C. Clark (NSW)
1911  C. Clark (NSW)
1922  C. Campbell (NSW)
1928  F. Popplewell (NSW)
1934  W.J. Bolger (NSW)
1946  H.H.A. Pickworth (NSW)
1956  B.S. Crampton (NSW)
1969  G.J. Player (SA)
1988  M.J. Calcavecchia (US)
1994  R.M. Allenby (VIC)
1999  A.J. Baddeley (a) (VIC)
2006  J. Senden (QLD)
2008  T. Clarke (SA)
2013 R. McIlroy (NIR)
2016 J.A. Spieth (USA)